Short trip to Thailand and Myanmar

Sawadhikrap~~~ (as how Thai people say hello)

 

Victory Monument

Victory Monument

 

One thing I really remember from Thailand is : FOOD! (it was sooo cheap! and taste good also!)

I spent my 4 days in Bangkok, and yeah on my last day in Thailand they had this “bombinb incident” , but thankfully I was in Myanmar back then! 😀

Okay! So here is my story in Thailand 😀

 

I spent my first day in Thailand by going to the Khaosan road , pretty famous with their street market during the night. I came on both night and day! and really I like the night one better than the day one 😀

Juice seller in Khaosan Road

Juice seller in Khaosan Road

I didnt really take a lot of photo back there, since I was focusing on the street shops and “FOOD” hahahah

Most of the food that I ate there cost me maximal 100-150 baht, as for the juice around 40-60baht.

Then I rode the so famous-called Tuk-tuk, or we have the same called “bajaj” in Indonesia

Tuktuk

Tuktuk

I really remember how the driver drove, OMG… it was beyond my expectation of a driver, he drove without any hesitation and just let us enjoy some fear and throughout the way 😛 (it was fun though)

After the short trip to the khaosan road and the tuktuk, I decided to go to Chatuchak weekend market, which is really famous with the huge traditional market in Thailand ( it took me around 40 min from the place I stay , and I am staying in saphaipae hostel  which is located in surasak station. The place is pretty nice, but I think some of the receptionist wasnt that friendly as what I thought).

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

Chatuchak weekend market

They were selling sooooo many stuffs, that made me pretty confuse what to buy and where! If you travel with family, this place is nice, and dangerous in the same time, since it was too crowded we might get separated from our family, but the shopping was cheap and I really recommend to buy some souvenir here 😀

 

The next thing I remember was going to the Grand Palace (it was soooo big, hot and crowded).

As I mentioned above, the grand palace was so big, crowded and hot. It was the truth and when you visit the grand palace, make sure to wear jeans or the Thai trousers, since they really respect their culture and want us as the tourist to show some respect too. We can easily borrow the trousers, or jeans if we forget to wear, but it will cost some fortune (I recommend looking at some store across the grand palace, sometimes they rent the trousers for cheaper price)

Oh yeah, I go to the grand palace by the boat (this is pretty cheap way to go to the grand palace, but dont get scammed! I paid only 40 baht for my boat! they also have like a private boat, which is located in an easier place with the cheap boat one, but then the price is like 150 baht or more)

 

So here is some photo I took during my travel to the grand palace:

The house looking boat.

The house looking boat.

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Grand Palace

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Culture dance lesson in Wat Pho Temple

Culture dance lesson in Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

Wat Pho Temple

The entrance ticket to the grand palace took me around 500 baht, and the walking inside is pretty long (1-2 hours). I really recommend not to go on weekend, since during the weekend we can not really get into some building.

OKAY! so here is some weird facts, my Thai trip will be paused, since I was going to Myanmar after the Grand Palace (it was right on the bombing incident, but I went in the morning *phew…)

 

I took the nok air from thailand to myanmar (seriously, use nok air, it was as cheap as airasia, but they have food service and baggage too!) (one suggestion: dont go around friday, saturday, sunday the price will be crazy)

So here is my myanmar trip:

Mingalaba (how they say Hello in Myanmar)

The first thing I realized in Myanmar is that:

They have a good airport (better than my expectation)

Airport in Myanmar (Yangon)

Airport in Myanmar (Yangon)

But as soon as I get out of the immigration I also realized that the car spoke Japanese — (apparently their relation with Japan is pretty strong and Japan pretty support myanmar)

So on my first day I directly go to the Kyaikto, which is famous for the GOLDEN ROCK! I used a private taxi from the airport to the place (it took 4 hours drive to go to kyaikto  and 4 hours drive to return to yangon) and it cost me around 140$. But during the way the driver drove me to this Taukkyan War Cemetery, which really amazed me with the architecture of the cemetary!

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

Taukkyan War Cemetery

I can actually asked the driver to drove me to Bago too, but then I dont really know about Bago at that time, so I decided to go straight to the Golden Rock (I would suggest for some short trip to Bago too if you have the time).

So I reached the truck station to go to the golden rock, I was shocked that there we have to ride the truck to went up (and this is the only way up and down), but the craziest part is that the truck will wait for 45 people to sit, then they will go to the golden rock truck stop (took 45 min also to go up to the truck stop)

So here is what the truck like:

Truck to the golden rock

Truck to the golden rock

Truck to the golden rock

Truck to the golden rock

It was crazy due to the fact that as soon as I arrived to the golden rock truck station, the weather was totally unfriendly, it was raining, windy and it was foggy, so I couldnt really see a lot 😦 (some people would suggest to stay near the golden rock, sure if you have the time. but for me one day trip is enough)

One of my "selfie" in front of the golden rock temple entrance

One of my “selfie” in front of the golden rock temple entrance

The Famous Golden Rock

The Famous Golden Rock

DCIM101GOPROGOPR1573.

DCIM101GOPROGOPR1573.

The Famous Golden Rock

The Famous Golden Rock

I met him on my way down and I asked him to smile, and this photo is the result :D

I met him on my way down and I asked him to smile, and this photo is the result 😀

This lady will approach you as soon as you get off from the truck, and they are pretty persistent too!

This lady will approach you as soon as you get off from the truck, and they are pretty persistent too!

One of the thing that was hard in Myanmar is that : local people dont really speak english, it will be hard to communicate! Also dont come during the monsoon. (I link to some link about the time to visit myanmar)

It was tiring and exhausting on my first day due to the long trip and the weather, but yeah it was rock!

 

The next day I visit my friend that is currently staying in myanmar, they even drove me to visit some places (I really appreciate their time to drove me to some of the temple there!)

Shwedagon Pagoda with Anda and Palm!

Shwedagon Pagoda with Anda and Palm!

Here is some of the photo during my myanmar visit with anda and palm:

dont remember the temple name.

dont remember the temple name.

Anda took this photo for me ! but sorry I cant really pose :P

Anda took this photo for me ! but sorry I cant really pose 😛

preparing the altar

preparing the altar

Famous Bodhi Tree

Famous Bodhi Tree

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Shwedagon temple

Bodhi leaves-Shwedagon temple

Bodhi leaves-Shwedagon temple

and that day ended with another awesome travel in yangon too!

as for the night I decided to take the night bus to go to Bagan! I went with this nice VIP Bus for the night travel and it cost me around 20 dollar, here is the site where I reserve the ticket!

Bagan Min Thar Bus

Bagan Min Thar Bus

The view as soon as I arrived in Bagan

The view as soon as I arrived in Bagan

I arrived 4 AM in the morning and basically the people there will be so persistent to offer you taxi or tour to go to bagan! Decided to take the taxi (cost me around 7 dollar) to go to the new bagan, as soon as I arrived I borrowed the e-bike (really recommend this) that cost me around 2-5 dollar for 1 day rent and you can go with the bike to look around bagan.

E-Bike

E-Bike

So here is some photo in bagan:

dont ask me the temple name --

dont ask me the temple name —

dont ask me the temple name --

The view of Bagan

The view of Bagan

The farmer in Bagan

The farmer in Bagan

Seller in Bagan, they will always try to offer you their stuffs, starting with giving you a free tour around the temple.

Seller in Bagan, they will always try to offer you their stuffs, starting with giving you a free tour around the temple.

DCIM101GOPROGOPR1817.

Seller in Bagan, they will always try to offer you their stuffs, starting with giving you a free tour around the temple.

Seller in Bagan, they will always try to offer you their stuffs, starting with giving you a free tour around the temple.


Puppet in Bagan

Puppet in Bagan

Some kid tried to rang the gong

Some kid tried to rang the gong

Due to the fact that they had a lot of temples, I can not really remember the name, so I couldnt really wrote all the temple (apologize for that)

As for the night, I went to the traditional night market in Bagan,

The fried quail egg seller, sorry for the blur photo

The fried quail egg seller, sorry for the blur photo

All kind of seller?

All kind of seller?

Creepy? fun?

Creepy? fun?

Sweet cracker thingie seller

Sweet cracker thingie seller

I really recomment bringing a “real” camera, due to the gopro is not really good for the night photo (my opinion)

As for the next day I climbed the Mount Popa, craziest thing: MONKEY! they were wild animal, they might grab you if you bring something interesting for them, so just be careful

is this what they called living together with nature? or just a mere ignorance?

is this what they called living together with nature? or just a mere ignorance?

Stairway to Heaven (?)

Stairway to Heaven (?)

Top temple

Top temple

Top temple

Top temple

It took around 45 min to walk the stair up — (tiring for me, who never really do travel and sport –)

But the view on top is marvellous!

View on top of the temple

View on top of the temple

As I went down, bought some snacks (love snacks) in this local traditional store

Local Traditional Shop

Local Traditional Shop

Last day, went back to Yangon, bought some souvenir in the Scott market, but those who prefer shopping centre, they have it right next to the scott market!

Longyi in Scott Market

Longyi in Scott Market

Monk in Scott Market

Monk in Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Near the Scott Market

Since shopping is not really my thing, I get confused inside the market, confused about what to buy, where to buy (since they have the same shop selling the same stuffs but different price in the scott market, the best way is bargain!)

That wraps my short visit in Myanmar,

Oh yeah! the traffic in myanmar is unpredictable! so make sure you open 2-3 hour before your flight —

Traffic in Myanmar

Traffic in Myanmar

 

Then I flew back to Thailand, and spent my last day looking around the Amphawa floating market and Damnoen Saduak Floating Market.

The experience of shopping on a boat is nice (Damnoen Sadhoak Floating Market)

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Eating on the boat!

Eating on the boat!

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

Damnoen Saduak

My friend was with me for the last day in Thailand, she told me that the food in Damnoen Saduak was pretty expensive compared to the Amphawa, but I just could not resist the temptation to eat and just keep eating :p

Here is the Amphawa floating market:

Amphawa floating market

Amphawa floating market

What is the other famous thing in Thailand? Everyone has the right to show their color freely without being judged!

What is the other famous thing in Thailand? Everyone has the right to show their color freely without being judged!

Amphawa floating market

Amphawa floating market

Played some shooting game there

Played some shooting game there

Amphawa floating market

Amphawa floating market

Me and vee in Amphawa floating market

Me and vee in Amphawa floating market

One thing that I almost forget! We came to this temple, that is covered with tree :

Dont remember the name of the temple

Dont remember the name of the temple

 

It was really exciting and fun!

What I learnt during this trip is that: we have to value our heritage, but it start with out local people. One of the thing I feel less from Indonesia is the respect towards our own heritage, we only care about the business from the heritage, without really maintaining the other aspects! (cleanliness, how we give service, also how other local people scam with crazy prize and really persistent attitude!) Let’s learn from other country! Start by caring the cleanliness of Indonesia!

 

Thanks for reading my realllllyyy loooonnngg post!

(if you have any question for my trip post, dont hesitate to comment or mail me :))

See you on the next post!

Leave a Reply

